The Elijah Myth

One of the first questions a couple faces when discovering infertility is, “Why am I the only one facing this?  Why is everyone else having children?”

Elijah was a faithful servant but he became discouraged and was blinded to the fact that he was not alone.  In 1 Kings 19: 14-18 we read of Elijah complaining to God saying, “and I, even only I, am left”.  God had to point out to Elijah that he had 7,000 other servants in Israel.  He was not alone.  But  it sure felt that way to Elijah in the midst of his discouragement.

There are 5 to 10 million couples facing infertility.  That is roughly 1 out of every 6 couples.  Trust me, we are not alone and more importantly than that, we need to know that we need each other and to place our trust in the Great Comforter, God.

Strength While Waiting


“He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength.”

Isaiah 40:29

“But they that wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”

Isaiah 40:31

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God; I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. “

Isaiah 41:10

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

Philippians 4:13

“Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.”

Psalm 27:14

“Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him…”

Psalm 37:7

“Trust ye in the Lord for ever: for in the Lord Jehovah is everlasting strength.”

Isaiah 26:4

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”

Matthew 11:28

“The Lord is good unto them that wait for Him, to the soul that seeketh Him.”

Lamentations 3:25

“Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all ye that hope in the Lord.”

Psalm 31:24

“Our soul waiteth for the Lord: He is our help and our shield.”

Psalm 33:20

“But the salvation of the righteous is of the Lord: He is their strength in the time of trouble.”

Psalm 37:39

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

Psalm 46:1

“My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion forever.”

Psalm 73:26

“The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”

Psalm 18:2

Editors Note:  Mary has a ministry to those struggling with infertility. Her blog, Threads4hope, will be linked to this site shortly.

