“You must be true to yourself???”

I heard the other day a minister say, “One thing I have learned in life is that you must be true to yourself.” It hit me wrong. Something does not seem right about that statement. It seems like the more you listen to some of the preachers they are so focused on self. What I can do, what I can get, my dream, my seed, my future… What is going on in my life…

I see more focused on self and less focused on our God, our Savior, His work, Others salvation….

It is another gospel. It may sound good. But it is not “THE GOSPEL”. It is not about me! It is not about self! It is about Jesus Christ and Him Crucified!

We must be true to the Gospel. We must be true to the one who has given us life. When people say I must be true to myself, they are saying I am not going to go through certain things, because it is not good for me. I am going to do what is good for me.

Paul said: 2 Corinthians 12:15And I will very gladly spend and be spent for you; though the more abundantly I love you, the less I be loved.

He sure was spent for the gospel and others. He was spent for their souls. Read all he went through.

Jude 1:22-24And of some have compassion, making a difference: And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh.

Do you know when you pull someone from the fire, you might get burnt? You might get smoke damage on you?

1 Corinthians 15:30-40(Amplified Bible) [For that matter], why do I live [dangerously as I do, running such risks that I am] in peril every hour? [I assure you] by the pride which I have in you in [your fellowship and union with] Christ Jesus our Lord, that I die daily [I face death every day and die to self].

What did these go through and did they focus on self? Jesus, Paul, Disciples, Martyrs, and many more.

Because of their faith:

Christian in Iran – because of his faith = 53 days in solitary confinement
Nigeria – seven people were killed by Muslim, because of their faith
India – Hindu extremists attacked a group of Christians at a prayer meeting in Madhya Pradesh, India, causing the death of a 25-year-old man and severely injuring three other believers,.. because of their faith
China – A Chinese court sentenced Christian bookstore owner, 38 year-old, Shi Weihan, to three years in prison for “illegal business operations,” –
Pakistan -Imprisoned Christian, Sandul Bibi, remains strong in her faith and is concerned about her family’s faith despite being in prison for the past eight months – because of her faith.
Others – arrested, beaten, separated from family, death, and so much more.

American Christians do not know much about persecution. Maybe a little harassment, ridicule, or a little bias. There has been some who have suffered or even lost their life because they believe in Jesus. But those are rare compared to what our christian friends are going through around the world. We will experience more and more as the days go by.

The point is we are so focused on self! What we can get, what we can have, who we are, what is in it for me…

We need to examine our hearts, our motives, and our focus.

