A PSALM OF DAVID

Psalm 69:1-6: “Save me, O God; for the waters are come in unto my soul. I sink in deep mire, where there is no standing: I am come into deep waters, where the floods overflow me. I am weary of my crying: my throat is dried: mine eyes fail while I wait for my God. They that hate me without a cause are more than the hairs of mine head: they that would destroy me, being mine enemies wrongfully, are mighty: then I restored that which I took not away. O God, thou knowest my foolishness; and my sins are not hid from thee. Let not them that wait on thee, O Lord GOD of hosts, be ashamed for my sake: let not those that seek thee be confounded for my sake, O God of Israel.”

FALSE PROPHETIC VOICES

In Psalm 69 David, the king of Israel, is speaking of a time when his confident standing in the God of his salvation was under vicious attack. In verse four, he talks about enemies who were speaking wrongful- ly against him. The word wrongfully in the original text means that it is a false prophetic voice. These are groundless words that have no basis in fact or reality, but their arguments in David’s mind were so real and mighty, he says, “I restored that which I took not away.” In other words, “I came to the point where I repaid debts I did not owe; I was unable to free myself from condemna- tion.” Some of you will understand this, as there are times when you have been attacked in such a way that it is absolutely demonic. The enemy sets himself up against the truth you have known concerning your position in Christ. He comes against you like a mighty flood, and you find yourself confessing things that have already been forgiven, and which are already under the blood.

In verse six David cries, “Don’t let those who trust in you stumble because of me, O Sovereign LORD Almighty. Don’t let me cause them to be humiliated, O God of Israel.” The cry of every true child of God should be, “Oh, God, don’t let me go under. I ask this not just for my sake, but for those looking to the testimony of my life to find hope in God.” It is not just about you and me, but it is about our family, our children, grand- children, and neighbors. It is about the co-worker and associate who will look to you and me as a “light,” showing them the way to faith in Christ in their moment of despair and desperation.

Philippians 2:15-16: “That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world, holding forth the word of life.”

DESPAIR—SATAN’S TOOL

In verse one David cries, “Save me, O God; for the waters are come in unto my soul.” In other words, “These hardships and trials are bringing me to a place where I can no longer stand; I am sinking into deep water, where the floods are overflowing my soul.”

1 Peter 5:8: “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.” Now this is interesting. When we think about a lion, we think about being devoured by simple brute force, brutality or viciousness, but the actual translation of this word has another context, as well. It means not just these things, but also to swallow somebody up or to drown him or her. In other words, the enemy walks about as a roaring lion, seeking whom he may drown, seeking whom he may swallow up by something that is going to come out of his mouth. How does the enemy do this? He attempts to “swallow” the righteous with despair and false- hood. You know you are a Christian, and yet you have been crying out, “God, save me; there is this flood coming against my heart and mind. It is attacking the very core of who I am in Christ. Lord, I need you as I have never needed you before.” My friend, you have become a victim of this roaring lion who stalks about seeking whom he may devour.

WATER AS A FLOOD

In Revelation 12:15 and16, “The serpent cast out of his mouth water as a flood after the woman, that he might cause her to be carried away of the flood. And the earth helped the woman, and the earth opened her mouth, and swallowed up the flood which the dragon cast out of his mouth. And the dragon was wroth with the woman, and went to make war with the remnant of her seed, which keep the commandments of God, and have the testimony of Jesus Christ.”

So, this is how the devil himself is going to come against the people of God. He cast out of his mouth this water, this flood that came after the woman, causing her to be carried away from her rightful position in God. Now, if you are a Christian, if the testimony of Jesus Christ is yours, you can be sure you are going to find yourself in a war, a war like none you have ever known before. This is a war of the mind; this is a battle for your thought life, a battle for the truth, and for the assurance of who you are in Christ. Satan’s intention is for you to lose your strength and confidence in your God, forcing you to retreat, so instead of standing strong in your darkest hour, you find yourself sink- ing in discouragement and despair.

JOB WAS SUBJECTED TO THIS FLOOD

Job was also subjected to a flood that came from the devil’s mouth, a flood that tried to swallow up his confidence in God, drawing him into bitterness and self-pity. The Bible tells us that Job was a righteous man who feared God, and yet without any explanation, he lost his children, his property, and his health. Many of us have known these losses, at least in some measure. You have known those difficult times, when things you had trusted in, or thought were the blessings of God, were suddenly gone! It is as if there is an unseen conflict going on around you, and you don’t know why. Some of you reading this are suffering from sorrow because of the loss of one or more of these same things—the enemy has encircled you like a roaring lion, seeking to devour. Satan is after your testimony.

SATAN-INSPIRED THEOLOGY

Satan showed up in Job’s day in the guise of three friends. They brought a satanically-inspired theology, sent to condemn this man who was suffer- ing. Job had been declared righteous in the sight of his God, and so he became the target of Satan, who instigated this flood of ungodly reasoning. This theology sounded something like this: “If God was with you, you would never struggle or suffer in your body; you would be rich—and you would have no trouble in your family. Your home would be a blissful place, and all your children would be serving God.” Then this attack became even more insidious, “God is punishing you less than what you deserve. Just confess your sin, Job, and God will forgive you and restore your for- tunes.” Had Job fallen into this trap, he would have proven the enemy right: “Job only serves you for what he can get. Touch him now, touch his family, touch his health, touch his property, and he will curse you to your face.” These friends of Job were rebuked by the Lord, “My wrath is kindled against you and against your two friends, for you have not spoken of me the thing that is right, as my servant Job has” (Job 42:7 AMP).

SATAN TRIES TO TAKE AWAY YOUR POSITION IN GOD

In Revelation 12:15 and 16, we read that the serpent cast out of his mouth a flood, which attempted to carry this woman away, out of her position in God. Nevertheless “the earth helped the woman, and the earth opened her mouth, and swallowed up the flood which the dragon cast out of his mouth.”

Now, what does it mean, “the earth opened her mouth”? This is symbolic speech, and in our day it speaks of how the dragon (Satan) is sending out a flood of false doctrine in his attempt to destroy the seed of Christ. However, we see that the earth opened its mouth and swallowed this flood which came against God’s servants. Then we wonder, “How does this happen? What does this mean to us?”

THE ACCUSERS

Moses and Aaron were chosen vessels. They were not perfect, but despite their weaknesses, they were called of God. In New Testament language, the Lord so often chooses the weak and foolish, those things that are despised, to bring to nothing the things that exist in and of themselves apart from God. In Numbers 16:3 we see the rising up of religious accusers, their voices coming in judgment against those who were called of God. They said to Moses and Aaron, “You take too much upon yourselves,” and they stood and accused them. In other words, “We are entitled to the position you have.” This is the tactic that demonic powers use. “Who do you think you are to live in such a high calling? Who do you think you are to call yourselves priests of the Most High God? Who do you think you are to stand and say that you speak for God?” The enemy used men of renown to accuse Moses and Aaron, probably reminding them of their own weakness and failures in the past. Now these voices were coming as a flood.

GOD WILL FIGHT FOR YOU

Moses said, “But if the LORD make a new thing, and the earth open her mouth, and swallow them up, with all that appertain unto them, and they go down quick into the pit; then ye shall understand that these men have provoked the LORD. And it came to pass, as he had made an end of speaking all these words, that the ground clave asunder that was under them: And the earth opened her mouth, and swallowed them up, and their houses, and all the men that appertained unto Korah, and all their goods. They, and all that appertained to them, went down alive into the pit, and the earth closed upon them: and they perished from among the congregation” (Numbers 16:30-33).

Listen to me carefully. The whole congregation in one powerful act of God saw how Moses and Aaron were delivered from the voices raised against their God-ordained position. The people of Israel became aware that the accusers were under judgment. And this is how God will fight for you—by showing you that your accuser, Satan, is already judged. You are free; you are bought with a price; you belong to the Lord Jesus Christ; you are the righteousness of God in Christ; the glory of the Lord lives within you. The promise of the Lord is, “No man can take you out of my hand! You are redeemed, you are glorified, and you are sanctified in Christ.” He is your wisdom, righteousness, and redemption. You are redeemed, the devil is damned forever!

No weapon formed against you can prosper; no weapon, nothing that the devil throws at you can prosper. Hallelujah!

GOOD NEWS—SATAN HAS BEEN JUDGED

Jesus said in John 16:11: “…The prince of this world is judged” and in John 12:31, “Now shall the prince of this world be cast out.” Through the death of Christ, Satan was over- thrown—and those who believe in the Son of God are made the righteousness of God in him. Jesus Christ spoiled principalities and powers and made a show of them openly, triumphing over them in his death on the cross. (See Colossians 2:15, and Hebrews 2:14.) He has secured the future of Satan, his fallen angels, and every demonic power and voice that rises up against his people and against the truth of their righteous standing in Christ. God will display his righteous judgment against the “accuser of the brethren,” by casting him into a lake of fire that will never be quenched (see Revelation 20:10). May your spiritual eyes be opened to know the truth: The enemy is a defeat- ed foe and his accusations false!

If you are a Christian, your destiny is eternal life and an abundant life in Christ on this side of eternity. Your destiny is not to sink, but to stand in the midst of the storm— to be clothed in the armor of God’s provision. The plan of God is for you to stand strong in a day of com- promise, a day of extreme darkness, which is on the face of the earth. Stand in the strength of our God, know who you are in Jesus Christ, and sing the songs of Zion as you have never sung them before. Not songs which are dependent on the status of your health, the size of your property, or even your family. The song you are to sing flows from the joyful life of God being lived out within you! A day of justice is com- ing when our accuser is going to be cast down forever. Hallelujah! You will no longer hear his voice of accusation, no more tears, sorrow and sighing, for all these former things will have passed away.

ADORNED IN CHRIST

The scripture declares, “…And their righteousness is of me, saith the LORD” (Isaiah 54:17). In essence, the Lord is saying, “‘I took off my robes, came down to earth, and became a man. And when you came to me, I took my robe of righteousness and I placed it upon you, and now you are clean. Now, what I have cleansed, let no man call common or unclean!’”

In Ezekiel 28:14-19, we understand two truths. Firstly, Satan, who was once adorned in splendor and beauty, is now stripped naked before the Almighty God. He forfeited this beautiful adorning, when pride entered his heart. Secondly, God has a ransomed people that were naked, but whom he has chosen to adorn in his loveliness. Beloved, you are not naked, but clothed in the righteous robes of Jesus Christ. Satan comes to you as a roaring lion, accusing you falsely of the very thing that he is: stripped, bankrupt and without hope!

REFLECTORS OF HIS GLORY

Isaiah 54:11-13: “O thou afflicted, tossed with tempest, and not comforted, behold, I will lay thy stones with fair colors, and lay thy foundations with sapphires. And I will make thy windows of agates, and thy gates of carbuncles, and all thy borders of pleasant stones. And all thy children shall be taught of the LORD; and great shall be the peace of thy children.” In other words, “The adornment your accuser lost, I am going to give to you. I will build you on the foundation of truth, and by the power of my Spirit. Your life will be transformed into the glorious image of Christ.”

“I will make thy windows…” This means, “People will look at your lifestyle and see my reflection. They will ask, ‘What is the reason for the hope you have, and for the song within you?’ The humble will see the beauty of your Christ and be glad.” “…And all your children will be taught of the Lord, and great shall be the peace of thy children.” They are not going to be taught just because you open the Bible each day. No! They will be taught because they will look at your life, and see the beauty of Jesus Christ within you; they will see this crowning glory of the One whose Spirit has raised you from the dead and seated you in heavenly places with Christ.

A FULL RESTORATION

Job 42:10: “And the LORD turned the captivity of Job, when he prayed for his friends: also the LORD gave Job twice as much as he had before.”

Job was restored, and was given twice what he had before. You may not necessarily have this blessing restored in kind, but the riches of your confidence in the Lord will be restored and strengthened. You will increase in the riches of the knowledge of Christ, sharing his sufferings, and experiencing the power of his resurrected life being transformed into his image. This blessing and victory does not happen without a battle, but remember, the battle has already been won at the cross! We now lay hold of it by faith through the finished work of Christ. There is a time when you have to confront the enemy, and declare your position in Christ: “I am forgiven and washed in the blood of Jesus Christ. I am being changed by the power of the Spirit of the living God who abides in me.” See 2 Corinthians 3:18: “But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.” Praise God, we are now seated together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus, and your heart’s desire is for Christ to be glorified in you on this side of eternity. You also have a desire for others, who are dear to the heart of God, to know him, and put their confidence and trust in him, and so are released from the grip of satanic lies.

THE HUMBLE WILL HEAR

In Psalm 69:1, David started out by saying, “Save me, O God; for the waters are come in unto my soul.” In other words, I am being accused and I am weary of crying.” But by verses 30-33 of the same chapter, things begin to change, “I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify him with thanksgiving. This also shall please the LORD better than an ox or bullock that hath horns and hoofs. The humble shall see this, and be glad: and your heart shall live that seek God. For the LORD heareth the poor, and despiseth not his prisoners.” David is saying, “I am not giving up my song. I am not forfeiting my song to this flood of the enemy. I am not giving up my standing in God and singing in this place. God has promised to give me a song! Therefore, I am going to praise him! There is nothing I can do to gain this place! He has given it to me by faith; I am going to accept it by faith, and I am going to start praising him with everything that is in my heart. God will reveal himself to this generation, and they will know he lives by my song of praise and thanksgiving to the Lord in every circumstance of life. Those who are looking for God, those that know they need help and a hope for their future, will see this song within my heart and be glad.”

The humble are waiting to hear your song of praise! Amen!

Carter Conlon November 27, 2005 ©2006 Times Square Church

