Colossians 2:16-17 (AMP)

16 Therefore let no one sit in judgment on you in matters of food and drink, or with regard to a feast day or a New Moon or a Sabbath.

17 Such [things] are only the shadow of things that are to come, and they have only a symbolic value. But the reality (the substance, the solid fact of what is foreshadowed, the body of it) belongs to Christ.

I would like to share a thought with you. Let’s say you come to my house. While you are there I begin to go into my ” love my wife routine”. As you watch I wander from room to room kissing each of her photographs, then I move to her closest and weep as I smell her clothing and the lingering smell of her perfume. Then I grab cds and old vhs tapes and play them – every time she appears on the screen I sigh, touch the screen, and even kiss the screen. Then I pull out old love letters and weep.Now if the situation was she had maybe died then you might could overlook my bizarre actions and say I was overcome with grief. However the whole time you have been watching you realize my wife is sitting in her chair no more than ten feet from me. Now – you just think my bread is not baked!

What is the point? Simply this. I love to study types and shadows in the Old Testament. It is a beautiful study and uncovers many beautiful gems of truth. The Feasts are another wonderful study and as well hold wonderful truths.So do not at any time think I don’t think they are a wonderful thing. The study of the Tabernacle is awesome as well. However!!!!!!!!!!!!

Never lose sight of this truth – everything in the Old Testament points towards Jesus / everything in the New Testament is because of Jesus!!!! He is the focal point!He is the center of God’s plan.It is He that is to be exalted.His name magnified!.

There seems so many in this hour who want to embrace the picture than embrace Him. Let me explain – I’m not an Israeli, I was born in Louisiania. Nor am I a “Jew” which was a term derived from the tribe of Judah not every Israeli.A good example – when people say someone is “bushhogging” they usually refer to the tractor they see pulling a rotary mower. Bushhog was a brand. Every major tractor company makes a rotary mower which is what a “Bushhog” is.So “Jew” has become a generic term. I was not raised in a Jewish culture – I was raised in an American culture if you will southern at that.I understand the Lord’s hand on the nation of Israel and before you jump on your fiery mountain to yell at me-I pray for the peace of Israel. The point is – we do not need to mix Judaism with Christianity. We are under a NEW COVENANT – everything pointed to what we walk in as Believers in Christ.So many seem caught up and embracing the Types that they lose focus on the one they pointed to. We don’t need half OT-half NT!.Thank God for the beauty of it in the Old Testament but we are to walk in the reality which is Jesus. Let’s take the Sabbath – some get so caught up in the “right” day. Saturday or Sunday. Man was never to be in bondage to the Sabbath. It was made for man. Even further Jesus is the fulfillment of the Sabbath. We rest in HIM and what He accomplished through the cross.

Some I know have gone so far that though they were born in America – they have never been to Israel nor is there any Israeli blood in their whole family tree – they can’t say Jesus anymore it must be Yeshua now.Can we get real for a moment? Again is it necessary to so embrace the types that we start veering off course. Some will be upset at what I’m saying cause they have so embraced the types and pictures that they lose sight of HIM!

When Jesus was on the mount of transfiguration , two others came Moses and Elijah. It said they conversed with Him. Now the disciples seeing this got all excited and wanted to start the “New” thing – THE CHURCH OF THE 3 TEMPLES!Yep

one for Jesus, Moses and Elijah. ( Reminds me of people today) All of a sudden Moses and Elijah were gone. Then the voice from heaven said- THIS IS MY SON – HEAR YE HIM! Now again – I’m not attacking Israel nor down playing it’s part in God’s plan. Jesus is the focal point now! The Body of Christ is now! I don’t need to stand at the Wailing Wall – I have access to the throne. I don’t worship the nation of Israel – I worship God and His Son the Lord Jesus! He is the Messiah!

He is the one the types and shadows spoke of and pointed to.

While we study and learn all the beauty we can from the Word , Old and New Testament alike let us not lose our focus!IT IS HIM! So – instead of running after the things about Him – EMBRACE HIM! Besides – I would much rather kiss my wife than her picture :0)

Just some thoughts I wanted to share – Be Blessed! > Dennis

