My friends it has been awhile since I wrote a note but I have been thinking so I thought I would share some of my thoughts. Lets look at a scripture :


” Thus says the Lord: Stand by the roads and look; and ask eternal paths, where the good, old way is;then walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. But they said , We will not walk in it!” Jer. 6:16 amp.

Now I certainly don’t want to miss anything that God is doing in this hour. I certainly don’t think things should stagnate.Certainly there are shiftings and changing that will occur in the Body of Christ and I try to stay sensitive to the Spirit of God. My greatest fear ( yes I said it ) is missing God in any area of my life. Notice however the people responded by saying > ” we will not walk in it” .

However there are some ” old fashioned ” things I miss :

Like services where the power of the Holy Spirit would move and people would weep their way to the altar and let the Spirit do a deep work in their lives. Transforming their natures more into the image of Jesus.

Services where the Word was preached without compromise and it would penetrate into the hearts of people causing them to look at their lives and see the need of change instead of watered down, make me feel good messages. The intent being to soothe the ears of people and not offend them. To help them stay so self centered. Goodness we might make somebody upset.

Revivals that were rooted in a deep move of God. Why they could last for days and the clock wasn’t the controlling factor and schedules were interrupted. Now people are upset if the service last longer than they think it should cause they are ” busy”.

The times when people wanted to be grounded in good solid biblical foundations. They wanted to know the foundational principles that would cause them to be solid in their beliefs instead of trying to always hear ” the latest thing” yet by their very actions they prove they do not understand basic things. Doctrine and theology are not bad words.

Remember when Ministers cared for the needs of people? They were driven with a passion to see the needs of their flock being met. They weren’t there to be served but to serve. They weren’t motivated with the idea of ” just what can they do for me and my church to put me on the map? ” There concern was ” How can they feed my people – and bless the people?”

Or we didn’t have so blatant hirelings who expect to be treated like ” movie stars ” with all their petty self-serving needs and their entourage to follow them. Those who seek to just fill their pockets and justify it .

Remember when sin was sin? Not ” issues” or just ” problems” . Remember how when you realized your sin broke the heart of the Father it broke your heart? Now days it is justified in some form or fashion.

Remember when people ” feared ” the Lord? Now days we see a total lack of this in the Body. It shall return though!

I still think Sanctification is still a process we must go through. Holiness wasn’t considered a bad thing or bondage in any way. There was a time when people sought it with fervency.

Remember when worship was about exalting Jesus? Excuse me but I don’t understand the need of throwing away hymns of the past. They had some strong content and theology in them. Yes some were not but Amazing Grace or How Firm a Foundation or Blessed Assurance still move me. I enjoy some of the ” new ” worship but I find some of it cold and lifeless and lacking in exalting Jesus.

Remember when Truth was not relevant? It was founded on biblical principles and adhered to. It wasn’t twisted to fit a certain viewpoint.

These are just a few things I have thought on. My children used to laugh at me when we would be driving and I would see a 57 Chevy or 63 Thunderbird and say ( before I could say it ) they would say , We know its a classic! Well I think these things I said above are some classic things we should still appreciate.

Yes let’s be swift to follow God and yet let’s not leave everything behind. Yes the Lord is doing ” a new thing” but notice both of these were written by Jeremiah . I am thoroughly convinced these are matters of the heart.

Thanks for listening to this “old guy ” Be Blessed!

